Theoretical Framework of Grief

Learning objectives

  • Define grief, mourning and bereavement.
  • Identify myths of grief.
  • Identify the phases of bereavement and the characteristics associated with each phase.
  • Identify the dimensions of grief.
  • Develop self-awareness regarding values and beliefs about death.
  • Identify risk factors for complicated grief.
  • List three cardinal rules of grief support.

Course overview

Nurses, social Workers, clergy and other healthcare professionals taking online bereavement training to help them better meet the needs of families suffering loss throughout the continuum of life, receive continuing education credit (CEUs) with an 80% passing grade, and upon completion of the course evaluation.

Nurse Contact Hours: 1.1
Social Worker Contact Hours: 1.0
Chaplain Contact Hours: 1.2

  • 40 minutes
Course Outline
  • Introduction
  • Grief, Mourning, and Bereavement
  • Myths of Grief
  • Phases of Bereavement
  • Dimensions of Grief
  • Self-Awareness
  • Risk Factors for Complicated Grief
  • Cardinal Rules of Grief Support
  • Davidson, G.W. (1984). Understanding mourning. Minneapolis: Augsburg Publishing House.
  • Grief History Assessment adapted from: Richardson, B. (1991). Personal Perspectives on Death and Dying. A questionnaire which addresses professional and personal losses. Published in Calica, J. (1991), Winter). Parallel Process: Handling Our Grief While Working with Grief. NAPSW Forum, pp.4-6.
  • Rando, T. (1993). Treatment of Complicated Mourning. Champaign, IL: Research Press.
  • Ripps, P. (1991). Cardinal rules of grief support. Forum Newsletter, 16 (4) 11,15. Published by the Association for Death Education and Counseling (ADEC), Hartford, CT. Used with permission.
Close Menu