California Time and Labor for Employees
- Gain an understanding of California Time and Labor laws as they apply to employees, in addition to their protections under the FLSA. Learn overtime pay rules in CA, the difference between exempt and nonexempt employees, and some general tips to ensure you're being paid properly.
The federal standard for overtime pay in many states is established by the Fair Labor Standards Act, or FLSA. It says that nonexempt employees should be paid overtime after working 40 hours in a week. However, California is a little different. The state of California has overtime provisions that require all nonexempt employees, which includes domestic workers, to receive overtime pay at a rate one and a half times the regular rate of pay for all hours worked over 8 hours per day and 40 hours per week. In this course, we'll discuss the differences between exempt and nonexempt employees. We'll cover some exceptions to the rule, and we'll go over some tips to help you ensure you're being paid properly.
- 5 minutes
- Format: Video